Listen or Download:

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Congrats to 16 UofM students for achievement awards!

The Centre for Ukrainian Canadian Studies at my alma mater, the University of Manitoba, recognized 16 students for high achievement in course work for the 2010-11 academic year.

The students were honoured at
the St. Andrew’s College (Winnipeg) Convocation and Awards Ceremony on Sunday, September 18, 2011.

The courses taught in 2010-11 included:
  • Intermediate Ukrainian (Prof. I. Konstantiuk)
  • History of Eastern Christianity (Dr. R. Yereniuk)
  • Introduction to Ukraine (Prof. O. Shevchenko)
  • Making of Modern Ukraine (Dr. D. Daycock)
  • Ukrainian Rites & Rituals (Dr. R. Klymasz)

The students received 25 scholarships and/or bursaries with a value of close to $13,000. The awards originated from St. Andrew’s College Foundation Scholarship and Bursary Fund and the Centre for Ukrainian Canadian Studies Endowment Fund at the University of Manitoba.

Many of these funds are named after prominent Ukrainian Canadian families and their family members, along with the professors, made the presentations.
Paul Lasko presenting
Cory Chetyrbok with the
Elia & Maria Symchych Scholarship
In each class the top three students with the highest marks received awards.
Amongst the prestigious awards was the Anne Smigel Memorial Scholarship for high standing in Ukrainian Canadian Heritage Studies, which was awarded to Cory Chetyrbok of Dauphin, MB.

The Andrew & Nellie Pawlik Scholarship for high academic standing in Ukrainian Canadian Studies and the fulfilment of a project that enhances and preserves Ukrainian culture had two winners – Justin Bzovy and Cory Chetyrbok.

Dr. Hlynka (right) presenting the
Steve & Anna Zurawecki Research
Fellowship to Dr. Klymasz (left)
The Centre also awarded the prestigious Steve and Anna Zurawecki Research Fellowship to an academic colleague for outstanding research in Ukrainian Canadiana and this year was granted to Dr. Robert Klymasz, one of the outstanding Ukrainian Canadian folklorists.

The winners of the various awards were:
  • Adriel Agpaiza
  • Jenna Modha
  • Curtis Mulyneaux
  • Romaniya Zayats
  • Khrystyna Lazar
  • James Gacel
  • Rodine Isfeld
  • Rebecca Klass
  • Kaelyn Martin
  • Cory Chetyrbok (4 awards)
  • Darka Burczynaki (2 awards)
  • Preet Toor
  • Garren Werbicki
  • Fr. Michael Faryna
  • Justin Bzovy
The Centre of Ukrainian Canadian Studies exists to create, preserve and communicate knowledge relating to Ukrainian Canadiana through teaching, research and community outreach. The Centre is a leading multicultural institution of the University of Manitoba that specializes in matters pertaining to Ukrainians in Canada.

For more information contact the Centre at (204) 474-8906 or vist their website.

No comments:

Featured Post

Back to School?

Back in 2008 I thought it would be fun to create a quiz based on some of Ron Cahute's tunes that I aired on the show, from his language-...