Listen or Download:

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Volunteer Awards program: call for nominations

Here’s a new opportunity for Canadians to recognize the exceptional contributions volunteers make in their communities.

The Honourable Diane Finley, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development, has announced the Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards first call for nominations.

Nominations are open
from July 12 to September 9, 2011.

The awards will recognize individuals or groups of volunteers, businesses and not-for-profit organizations in five regions across Canada.

The Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards program consists of 17 awards in total, at the regional and national level. Fifteen regional awards will be presented, three for each of five regions across Canada (Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, the Prairies, British Columbia and the northern region), which include one for each of the following:

Community Leader (for individuals or groups of volunteers
  • Business Leader (for businesses); and
  • Social Innovator (for not-for-profit organizations)
Two national awards will be presented for:
  • Lifelong Achievement (generally for those who have volunteered for a period of at least 20 years); and
  • Emerging Leader (for new volunteers—generally, those who have volunteered for a period of no more than three years).
Nominees in all award categories must meet the following eligibility criteria:
  • Individual nominees must be Canadian citizens, permanent residents or protected persons within the meaning of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, and at least 18 years of age.
  • Eligible organizations must be Canadian (e.g. registered not-for-profits or businesses registered in Canada).
  • All nominees must have contributed to addressing social challenges.
  • Political and public advocacy work are excluded.

Award recipients will be recognized at a ceremony expected to be held in early 2012, and will be eligible to identify a not-for-profit organization to receive a grant for $5,000 (regional award recipients) or $10,000 (national award recipients).

Nominators may be any person or group with direct knowledge of the nominee’s contribution.

More information on the awards program, eligibility criteria (including examples) and the nomination process at the Prime Minister’s Volunteer Awards website.

No comments:

Featured Post

Back to School?

Back in 2008 I thought it would be fun to create a quiz based on some of Ron Cahute's tunes that I aired on the show, from his language-...